Ranty life updates & peace offering

I feel like I haven’t posted anything in such a long time, but in actuality it’s been just four days! I completely blame #blogging101 for making me dependent on having someone tell me what type of posts to do.

But I really miss it nevertheless.

These past few days have been really busy for me, what with the impending doom next week (i.e. the day I leave country for college), and dinners, ceremonies and all the promises I made that must be fulfilled before I leave. I don’t know if stress is to blame, but I have recently become easily upset and angry. I am constantly irritated by the smallest things and at very inconvenient times.

Take yesterday, for example.

My cousin who has recently graduated from college has decided to become a monk* before he starts working. Yesterday was the ceremony.


*Fun fact: I’m not sure if it is the same anywhere else, but in Thailand, most men who are Buddhists at least once in their life temporarily become a monk (on average for 1 month), perhaps for the parents. Usually, it’s done after something significant happens in someone’s life, such as graduation.


To be honest, I’m not very closed to him at all. I see him two times a year max, some years not even once, but hey he’s family and we support each other in any situation. Now, I went with my parents, expecting to stay just for the head shaving part of the ceremony which finishes in the morning, but somehow my parents and another aunt convinced me to stay until the whole thing ends because they ‘needed my help’. So there I was, being left behind by my parents to attend an event full of people I have never met before in my life and very, very annoyed.

I was so frustrated because…I didn’t sign up for this! I’m very, very happy that my cousin (now referred to as ‘monk’) has made this choice, but I have other stuff to do too! Lists I made of the things to complete that day (posting was one of them..) completely ruined, and for what? For sitting idly around all day, being of no help to anyone whatsoever and with practically no one to talk to.

At that point I realized how much I hated it when anyone unnecessarily wastes my time.

At that point, I also realized that I was very, very unhappily sitting through a sacred ceremony and what was supposed to be a really happy event, gaining no merit and goodness in my soul at all. Time to adjust my attitude alright.

In the end…it wasn’t all that bad though. There definitely were some funny moments. Like before the ceremony, the monk-to-be is supposed to memorize a whole lot of phrases in ‘Pali’ to be said during the ceremony, and my cousin probably did, but when the actual rituals were carried out…well… There were lots of awkward silences and stuttering. At one point, I’d dozed off while a monk was saying the prayers, and I’d woken up confused because suddenly there were no more prayers. But the ritual wasn’t finished though, it was my cousin who had forgotten what to say, and the monk in front of him had to whisper under his breath the remainder of the phrase!

All that said, I still ended up home at 6-freaking-pm when I’d expected to be back 12pm the latest :/.

Here’s a quick watercolor sketch of my cousin (wearing..bleeding..glasses) with white robes on (he only got to wear yellow robes after another ritual was performed), and his mother at the side.

buad

Another life update

Because this week I have much to do regarding preparation for take off next week, I probably won’t be able to post as much as I want.

Next week I also have orientation, so I also don’t expect to be able to do any posts at all that 1-2 weeks, which is sad because #blogging201 starts around that time right? I will have a lot to catch up. In any case, I will try to prepare and schedule some posts in advance so that this blog won’t be so empty for such a long time.

NOW, here’s a peace offering (because I like to feel guilty about the littlest things).

Splashy lips - Ramida

Bleeding (or splashy or whatever you call it) lips is a must-do-once in a person’s watercolor career, right?

As always, comment away.

Thank you for reading and until next time xx

28 thoughts on “Ranty life updates & peace offering

      1. I was actually born in California and lived there for 15 years so I have a good amount of experience on both coasts. I can answer any questions you have probably… The West Coast and tends to be more sunny with a milder climate. That does depend on where you are in California though. The East Coast has bigger bugs and more humidity. It’s not too different temperature wise, at least where I live, but the rain and the humidity make it feel different. The nice thing about both California and North Carolina is they both have beaches and mountains so, within a few hours, you can see either one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Beaches & mountains – that I would enjoy.
        The one thing I’m curious about weather, even though I’ve researched it, is how cold can it get? I’ve been told that it’s not that cold, but do you ever have to use those heavy jackets?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Unless you are moving to a mountain area you probably will not have a need for heavy jackets. Something to keep the rain off, a sweater for cold days, but I didn’t ever need a heavy parka type jacket unless I went to the mountains.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I have a few sites on my Pinterest that talk about packing for international trips. Anyway, Brinkley a couple small things that remind you of home and family, and some clothes, but anything you don’t have you can get here too.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. My gosh you are entering such an exciting chapter in your life! The endless possibilities that stretch before you can feels overwhelming, I totally get it, but you are going to have such an adventure! I’m excited for ya! You got this! 👍🙏✌️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Ramida,

    It’s a nice story and I hope you won’t get bored anymore by such ceremonies 🙂

    Art is so beautiful as always.

    I hope your packing and journey would be wonderful.

    Wishing you very best,

    Anand

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

