Things to know about wisdom teeth removal & midnight painting reflection

Yesterday I went for a wisdom teeth removal, and after being told repeatedly of horror stories revolving around this surgery, to say I was not ready was an understatement.

I was breathing so hard I was on the verge of a panic attack when the dentist stuck a needle in my gum, and at first I wanted to ask for a sedative, but apparently it wasn’t ‘required’ (local anesthetic isn’t ‘required’ to take out my teeth too, but they gave it to me anyway right?). I had this fear that if I’m not completely knocked out, the dentist might give me the wrong dosage of anesthetic, and I wouldn’t be numb enough when he pulls my teeth out.

Happy to say, it wasn’t that bad. Sure, I felt the doctor sawing my teeth off (or something which sounds awfully similar). Sure, I felt him trying to pull my teeth out several time, and it was what I imagined a tree would feel if it’s roots were plucked out of the soil. But it was more of a detached feeling really.


NOTICE: feel free to skip this part if you’re not interested to know about gum wound, infection causes, etc.


So this is what i learned about taking care of such a wound:

– First day, ice compression around the area near the mouth on the side of the wound. Second day, the opposite of ice compression (what is it called anyway? Hot compression?). This reduces the swelling that if did not appear on your first day, definitely will on the second day. Oh, and don’t worry if your mouth tastes metallic the whole day. That’s just the bleeding.

No chewing, no spicy food, no touching that wound ever. It might cause infection. My friend had it. And one more thing: don’t spit/gargle the first 24 hours if you can help it. Something about the possibility that food could get stuck (infection) and irritation of wound which would result in more bleeding.

Washing mouth protocol: can brush teeth with toothpaste, but don’t ever let the brush touch your wound. If you don’t feel clean around that area, rinse with salt water.


Wait, why am I telling you this when there is google? Sorry it’s my blog and I can do whatever I want with it.

And right now, I’m going to show you what the feeling of pain & food withdrawal & mild post-surgery depression looks like at midnight. Turned out rather happier than I thought it should haha.

Swell - Ramida
Swell…

I really didn’t know why I added those patterns on the left side, but once the paint was on paper there was nothing else left to do but to continue. Feel free to give me any critiques/suggestions. Including about my teeth too if you can, since I’m only on the second…oh wait, third day of removal.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time xx

6 thoughts on “Things to know about wisdom teeth removal & midnight painting reflection

  1. Had one of these after a work trip overseas and got chicken pox right after (I was in my early twenties). I was quarantined for three weeks and had to work from home. Then got sick for another week. My boyfriend cooked, did laundry and painted my nails. Best time ever. Don’t try it though. Brutal. I hope you feel better soon. Gorgeous painting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

